Jason D. Anderson interview @ NMA

No Mutants Allowed, the (in)famous Fallout fansite has posted their interview with Troika co-founder Jason D. Anderson. Here’s an excerpt for your convenience:

When I was around 9 or 10, my mom read an article about Gary Gygax and went out and bought me the basic D&D set. (Remember the blue one? The one with the die that fell apart when you threw them?) I didn’t have anyone to play with, so I created characters and played by myself until I found some friends at school to play with. We played nearly every day at school during lunch. I remember when the Advanced D&D books came out, with the Monster Manual, it was such a huge deal for us. And I remember when we heard about the movie BladeRunner and the cool world it was taking place in, we used the D&D system as a model and made up our own RPG based on a BladeRunner-esque world. We also liked to play Avalon Hill games and sit around dreaming up our own RPG systems and talking about the games we’d make one day. At that time, home computers were pretty scarce. But one of my friend’s parents had a computer that we would play Space War on (I think that was its name).

Check out NMA for the full interview!

Leave a Reply

